The 10 Best Pipe Taps to Buy – October 2021 Review

Looking for the best Pipe Taps?

We did 25 hours of research and testing 9 products to create this review. We believe the best Pipe Taps doesn’t have to be the most sophisticated to be exceptional. Our product selection lives up to its promise. Many different criteria were used for this comparison to be more relevant and more precise. Now discover our comparison !

TOP 10

SaleNo. 1
Drill America - POUCSNPT5 5 Piece NPT Pipe Tap Set (1/8", 1/4", 3/8", 1/2" and 3/4"), Plastic Pouch Case, POU Series
  • Carbon steel Pipe taps are designed to clean and or re-thread damaged or Jam Pipe threads
  • Uncoated tools feature just the base substrate without any additional treatment or coatings and are suitable for a wide range of applications
  • Round Shank with square end. Straight flute tools allow chips to collect in the Flutes as they cut and are well suited for most applications in shallow cuts
  • Right-hand cut tools have a cutting action that engages when they are run in a clockwise direction
  • NPT Pipe taps, sizes 1/4"-18 NPT, 3/8"-18 NPT, 1/2"-14 NPT, 3/4"-14 NPT carbon steel Pipe taps in plastic pouch case
SaleNo. 2
Drill America - DWTPT1/8-1SET 6 Piece NPT Pipe Tap, Carbon Steel, DWTPT Series Set, 1/8", 1/4", 3/8", 1/2", 3/4" and 1" in Wooden Case
  • Carbon steel pipe taps are designed to clean and or re-thread damaged or jam pipe threads
  • Also called 'pipe taps', National Pipe Taper (NPT) taps are appropriate for threading a wide variety of materials both ferrous and non-ferrous.
  • The nominal size of a Pipe Tap is that of the pipe fitting to be tapped, not the actual size of the tap.
  • The thread tapers 3/4 of an inch per foot. All Pipe Taps furnished with a 2-1/2 to 3-1/2 thread chamfer.
  • 6 Piece Set of Carbon Steel NPT Pipe Taps, Sizes 1/8", 1/4", 3/8", 1/2", 3/4" and 1" in Wood Case
No. 3
HHIP 1011-3312 12 Piece 1/8-1" NPT Taper Pipe Tap and Hex Die Set
  • Thread ground high speed steel
  • Right hand
  • Supplied with solid wooden case
  • Includes one of each of 1/8-27, 1/4-18, 3/8-18, 1/2-14, 3/4-14 and 1-11-1/2 NPT tap and dies
No. 4
XtremeAmazing Set of 5 HSS NPT Pipe Tap Set 1/8, 1/4, 3/8, 1/2 and 3/4 Inch
  • Taps Size: 1/8''-27 NPT, 1/4"-18 NPT, 3/8"-18 NPT, 1/2"-14 NPT, 3/4"-14 NPT
  • High quality HSS material, cutting edges clean and sharp.
  • With a center hole drilled in all taps, easy to use in a drill press.
  • Package Contents: 5 x NPT Pipe Tap SetHigh quality HSS material, cutting edges clean and sharp.
No. 5
5 Piece NPT Thread Forming Taps, Pipe Taps Set, High-speed Steel Drill Bits for Cleaning or Re-thread Damaged or Jam Pipe Threads, Size 1/8", 1/4", 3/8", 1/2", 3/4"
  • Different from the traditional carbon steel material. Our pipe taps is made of composite steel (GCR15) material, which is more durable and Higher hardness, (The traditional hardness of 45# carbon steel is 44; the hardness of combined steel is 61), uses forclean and or re-thread damaged or jam pipe threads.
  • 5 pcs NPT Pipe taps used for clean and or re-thread damaged or jam pipe threads, Cuts internal threads in pipes. Ideal for pipe fittings.Available in National Pipe Taper (NPT) and British Standard Pipe Taper (BSP). Includes teach size of: 1/8" - 27 npt, 1/4" - 18 npt, 3/8" - 18 npt, 1/2" - 14 npt, 3/4" - 14 npt.
  • Nominal size of the tap is that of the pipe fitting being tapped.
  • Uncoated tools feature just the base substrate without any additional treatment or coatings and are suitable for a wide range of applications.
  • Round shank with square end, Straight flute tools allow chips to collect in the flutes as they cut and are well suited for most applications in shallow cuts.
No. 6
Drill America DWTPT1-1/2 1-1/2'-11-1/2 NPT Pipe Tap, Carbon Steel, DWTPT Series
1,666 Reviews
Drill America DWTPT1-1/2 1-1/2"-11-1/2 NPT Pipe Tap, Carbon Steel, DWTPT Series
  • Carbon steel pipe taps are designed to clean and or re-thread damaged or jam pipe threads
  • Uncoated tools feature just the base substrate without any additional treatment or coatings and are suitable for a wide range of applications
  • Round shank with square end
  • Straight flute tools allow chips to collect in the flutes as they cut and are well suited for most applications in shallow cuts
  • Right-Hand cut tools have a cutting action that engages when they are run in a clockwise direction
No. 7
HORUSDY 5-Piece NPT Pipe Tap Set, Sizes Includes 1/8", 1/4", 3/8", 1/2", 3/4" and 1"
  • Carbon steel pipe taps are designed to clean and/or rethread to damage or block pipe threads.
  • Right-hand cutting tool has a clockwise cutting function.
  • NPT Pipe taps sizes includes:1/4"-18 NPT, 3/8"-18 NPT, 1/2"-14 NPT, 3/4"-14NPT, 1"-11.5NPT. Equipped with special storage box.
  • Round shank, square end. Straight flute tools allow chips to collect in the Flutes as they cut and are well suited for most applications in shallow cuts.
  • Uncoated tools have only the base material and do not need any additional treatment or coating, so they can be widely used.
No. 8
Drill America 12 Piece Carbon Steel NPT Pipe Tap and Die Set, 1/8", 1/4", 3/8", 1/2", 3/4" and 1" in Wooden Case
  • Carbon steel pipe taps are designed to clean and or re-thread damaged or jam pipe threads
  • Also called 'pipe taps', National Pipe Taper (NPT) taps are appropriate for threading a wide variety of materials both ferrous and non-ferrous.
  • Hex die is for dressing over bruised or rusty threads
  • No special holder is required for this type of die, any wrench large enough will suffice
  • Ideal for maintenance in the shop or field
  • 12 Piece Set comes with sizes 1/8", 1/4", 3/8", 1/2", 3/4" and 1"
No. 9
Drill America DWTPT1/4-1-1/4SET 6 Piece NPT Pipe Tap Set in Wooden Case (1/4", 3/8", 1/2", 3/4", 1" and 1-1/4"), Carbon Steel, DWT Series, Uncoated (Bright), Small
  • Carbon steel pipe taps are designed to clean and or re-thread damaged or jam pipe threads
  • Also called 'pipe taps', National Pipe Taper (NPT) taps are appropriate for threading a wide variety of materials both ferrous and non-ferrous.
  • The nominal size of a Pipe Tap is that of the pipe fitting to be tapped, not the actual size of the tap.
  • The thread tapers 3/4 of an inch per foot. All Pipe Taps furnished with a 2-1/2 to 3-1/2 thread chamfer.
  • 6 Piece Set of Carbon Steel NPT Pipe Taps, Sizes /4", 3/8", 1/2", 3/4", 1" and 1-1/4"
No. 10
HORUSDY 5-Piece NPT Pipe Tap Set, Sizes Includes 1/8", 1/4", 3/8", 1/2" and 3/4"
  • Carbon steel pipe taps are designed to clean and/or rethread to damage or block pipe threads.
  • Right-hand cutting tool has a clockwise cutting function.
  • Right-hand cutting tool has a clockwise cutting function.
  • NPT Pipe taps sizes includes:1/4"-18 NPT, 3/8"-18 NPT, 1/2"-14 NPT, 3/4"-14. Equipped with special storage box.
  • Round shank, square end. Straight flute tools allow chips to collect in the Flutes as they cut and are well suited for most applications in shallow cuts.

Intro

Find out where you can get the best Pipe Taps! Making your choice among different Pipe Taps on the market is not always easy. It can also turn into a daunting task because of the many websites offering the same type of product. On this page, we will give you a comparison to get the best value for your money. This complete ranking provides you with a comprehensive view and allows you to pick the best Pipe Taps. You will find a broad selection of models, brands, and prices. Whether you want to save money or find out what is the best Pipe Taps for you, our comparison will help you make the right choice. To keep things practical and easy to understand, we created a Top 10 of the best Pipe Taps. You won’t have to choose your products at random anymore.. On your marks! Compare! Pick your Pipe Taps!

Our Picks

SaleNo. 1
Drill America - POUCSNPT5 5 Piece NPT Pipe Tap Set (1/8", 1/4", 3/8", 1/2" and 3/4"), Plastic Pouch Case, POU Series
  • Carbon steel Pipe taps are designed to clean and or re-thread damaged or Jam Pipe threads
  • Uncoated tools feature just the base substrate without any additional treatment or coatings and are suitable for a wide range of applications
  • Round Shank with square end. Straight flute tools allow chips to collect in the Flutes as they cut and are well suited for most applications in shallow cuts
  • Right-hand cut tools have a cutting action that engages when they are run in a clockwise direction
  • NPT Pipe taps, sizes 1/4"-18 NPT, 3/8"-18 NPT, 1/2"-14 NPT, 3/4"-14 NPT carbon steel Pipe taps in plastic pouch case
SaleNo. 2
Drill America - DWTPT1/8-1SET 6 Piece NPT Pipe Tap, Carbon Steel, DWTPT Series Set, 1/8", 1/4", 3/8", 1/2", 3/4" and 1" in Wooden Case
  • Carbon steel pipe taps are designed to clean and or re-thread damaged or jam pipe threads
  • Also called 'pipe taps', National Pipe Taper (NPT) taps are appropriate for threading a wide variety of materials both ferrous and non-ferrous.
  • The nominal size of a Pipe Tap is that of the pipe fitting to be tapped, not the actual size of the tap.
  • The thread tapers 3/4 of an inch per foot. All Pipe Taps furnished with a 2-1/2 to 3-1/2 thread chamfer.
  • 6 Piece Set of Carbon Steel NPT Pipe Taps, Sizes 1/8", 1/4", 3/8", 1/2", 3/4" and 1" in Wood Case
No. 3
HHIP 1011-3312 12 Piece 1/8-1" NPT Taper Pipe Tap and Hex Die Set
  • Thread ground high speed steel
  • Right hand
  • Supplied with solid wooden case
  • Includes one of each of 1/8-27, 1/4-18, 3/8-18, 1/2-14, 3/4-14 and 1-11-1/2 NPT tap and dies

Why you should trust us?

This guide is the result of more than 10 years of experience in researching, testing, and writing about various subject. Our team members are experts in their fields. We spent 25 hours reading all the articles we could find online and all the customer reviews on various retail websites such as Amazon, Ebay, Alibaba or Flipkart. We also found many websites that provided valuable resources such as purchasing guides and detailed information on Pipe Taps. To help you make the best choice among the hundreds of products available, we decided to offer you a comparison in order to find the best value for your money. We searched different fields to find the best Pipe Taps. We also looked at the best alternatives for reasonably priced and easy to use products. After we determined our main parameters, we conducted our research and tests.These parameters separate a great product from an average one:

  • Price
  • Ease of use
  • Customer reviews
  • Quality
  • Durability

Conclusion

We hope this ranking was helpful to you in choosing the Pipe Taps that best suits you. We made it thoroughly and we will update it regularly, so that you get a real-time comparison. Our goal is to allow you to compare models and prices, to get an overview of what the market has to offer. We are here to make it easier for you and to make informed decisions. If our ranking gave you a clearer view on the different products available, feel free to let us know in the comments section. We will happily read them.

Click to rate this page !
Thanks !

Last update on 2021-10-19 at 17:43 / Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API